Hi. How can we help?

Finding and removing duplicate customer records in Retail POS (X-Series)

Customer data holds many opportunities for growth, getting to know your customer, and trust. This feature, available to Admin users, enables merchants to find and quickly remove duplicate customer profiles from the back office. This leads to a clean database, allowing you to work more efficiently, save time, and make fewer clicks. 

  Note

Disclaimer: For merchants using Marsello, other third-party apps, or custom integrations with our Customer API, the merge action will not work.

To find and remove duplicate customer records, follow these steps: 

For bulk merging

1. From the main menu, click Customers

2. If your database has customers with duplicate email addresses, a red banner on top of your screen will show. Click the banner to take action and merge your duplicates in bulk. banner-finding-duplicates.png

3. The merge modal will appear showing its first group of duplicates found by email. 

4. Under Customer in the modal, select the primary profile you want to merge the duplicates into and choose an action for each duplicate record. You can choose to keep and do nothing, move the sales history and balances or move sales history, balances, and delete. Any store credit, loyalty, and account balances from the duplicates will be transferred to the selected primary profile.

5. Once selected, click Merge and go to the next group.merge-go-next-group.png

The next group of duplicates will show.

For manual search and merging

1. From the main menu, click Customers.

2. Select or search your customer name and the duplicates. Select-duplicates.jpg

3. When selected, click Choose an action. Choose-an-action.jpg

4. Select Merge customer. customers-merge-delete.jpg

5. The merge modal will appear. Under Customer in the modal, select the primary profile you want to merge the duplicates into and choose an action for each duplicate record. You can choose to keep and do nothing, move the sales history and balances or move sales history, balances, and delete. Any store credit, loyalty, and account balances from the duplicates will be transferred to the selected primary profile. actions-merge.jpg

6. When selected, click Apply.Apply-merge.jpg

7. Once completed, you will be brought back to the Customer page. Completed-screen.jpg

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 1 found this helpful