How to delete a product

Deleting a product will remove the selected product from your product catalog permanently and cannot be restored. This is recommended when you will not be selling a product again in the future and no longer require it within your catalog.

If you wish to temporarily remove a product from being sold in your store, we recommend deactivating the product instead. To learn more, refer to our How to deactivate a product guide.

To delete a product, follow these steps: 

  1. Navigate to CatalogProducts and locate the product you wish to delete, using the filters if necessary.

    Screen_Shot_2021-12-06_at_2.42.36_PM.png

  2. Click on the product to expand, then click Delete.

    Screen_Shot_2021-12-06_at_2.42.43_PM.png

  3. A warning prompt will open to inform you that you're about to permanently delete the product. To continue deleting the product, click Delete product. Screen_Shot_2021-12-06_at_2.42.50_PM.png

When you're unable to delete the product

If you were unable to delete a product, this may be because the product is part of:

  • Open/sent stock order and stock transfer
  • Open stock return
  • An open or in-progress inventory count
  • Parked, open layby, or on account sale
  • Any composite product as a component

A prompt will detail what is preventing the product from being deleted. You will need to complete, cancel, or remove the product from the listed inventory movements before deleting the product.

Screen_Shot_2021-12-06_at_2.43.36_PM.png

Once you have done this, click Try again and delete product.

Processing a sale with a deleted product

In some situations, a product may be accidentally deleted when a sale including the same product is being made. Retail POS will still allow the deleted product to be sold.

However, a notification will be displayed under the deleted product on the sell screen.

Therefore, if the sale is still in progress and payment has not yet been taken, you can inform your customer that the product was deleted.

Processing returns including a deleted product

A sale with a deleted product can be returned, and you can process the return following the usual steps.

For more information on how to process a return, refer to our Returning a sale in Retail POS (X-Series) guide.

Unlike a normal return, however, you will be notified on the sell screen that the product was deleted.

Delete-Product-Return-Deleted.png

Once you have processed the return, you will need to decide how to deal with the returned product, as it has been deleted.

We recommend adding the product back into your store if you intend to resell the product, to ensure that your inventory levels in the store are accurate. For more information on how to add products into your store, refer to our How to add products into Retail POS (X-Series) guide.

Did this answer your question?
Have more questions? Contact us so that we can help you out.