Voiding a sale will add the sold products back into your inventory and remove any payments made towards the sale from your reports. Although payments are removed, voided sales remain in your sales history for reporting purposes.
Voiding a sale does not automatically refund any payments made towards the sale to the customer. Refunds, such as cash and card payments, must be processed manually outside of Retail POS once the sale is voided.
Types of sales that can be voided and implications of voiding them
- Closed sales: All payments made towards the sale are canceled but not returned to the customer. Payments must be refunded manually. Inventory is returned to Retail POS.
- Parked sales: The parked sale will be canceled. There is no payment or inventory to return. A record of the sale will remain in your sales history.
- Layby/On Account sales: All payments made towards the sale are canceled but not returned to the customer. Any payments that were made against the sale must be refunded manually. Inventory is returned into Retail POS.
- Returns: All refunds issued against the sale are canceled, including store credit. The returned inventory is removed from stock.
- Parked returns: The parked sale will be canceled. There is no payment or inventory to return. A record of the sale will remain in your sales history.
A sale that has a return against it cannot be voided as the return is loaded against it. This does not change when voided the return.
- Gift cards: Voiding sales of gift cards will remove the gift card balance and the gift card number can be used again. Voiding sales where a gift card has been used as a payment method will re-credit the amount to the gift card.
Loyalty earned from a sale is removed when the sale is voided. Loyalty that has been used as a payment type on a sale is returned to the customer when a sale is voided.
Voiding a sale
To void a sale:
- Navigate to Sell > Sales history.
- Locate the sale you want to void.
- Click on the sale to expand it.
- Click Void.
- A dialogue box will open asking to confirm that you wish to void the sale. Voiding a sale cannot be undone. If you do wish to void the sale, click Void sale. This will refresh your sales history and the sale's status will appear as Voided.
- Return any payments to the customer in accordance with your store's refund policy. This is done manually outside of Retail POS. The payments will be removed from your reports as soon as the sale is voided.
You can still see the details of this sale in your sales history, even after it has been voided. This is for recording purposes, so you can review voided sales in the future.