Changing, updating, and editing your Retail POS (X-Series) plan

How do I update my billing information/invoice details?

The account owner user can edit billing details on the Billing page (Setup > Billing), which will directly reflect on the invoice. To edit these details, navigate to Setup > Billing and click Edit billing recipient.

  Important

When updating the billing recipient information, a valid billing address must be entered and billing recipient information cannot be updated without it.

For merchants located in the USA, the billing address details will be used to calculate the sales tax charged on Retail POS subscriptions.

If you want a CC email for the invoices (more than one email address to receive a copy of the invoice), you can contact Support to have this second address added to your account.

What is annual billing?

Annual billing is when you pay for 12 months of your monthly subscription upfront. This reduces your credit card processing fees, especially for international customers, and gives you a discount on your subscription. For further information on the latest plans, refer to our pricing page.

  Important

Please note that we do not offer prorated refunds if you decide to terminate an annual (or monthly) contract early. See the Lightspeed Service Agreement for more details.

How can I change my plan from monthly to annual?

  Important

When changing your billing cycle from monthly to annual, or annual to monthly, retailers on Lite or Pro plans will need to select one of our current plans for your region to move forward with.

For more information on our latest pricing plans, click here.

If you’re an existing customer go to Setup > Billing and reselect your base plan on the Annual frequency.

If you change the pricing plan partway through a month, your pricing will be prorated. Your billing date will also change to the date you initiated the billing frequency change. 

This is what happens:

  • When you change your pricing plan, we restart your billing from the day you make the change.
  • Any remaining days from your previous month are shown as a credit adjustment on your invoice.
  • The charges for the next full year are added to your invoice.
  • Your bill total = full new annual charge - amount credited.
  • Payment will be taken the day you make the change.

What about changing my plan from annual to monthly?

  Important

When changing your billing cycle from monthly to annual, or annual to monthly, retailers on Lite or Pro plans will need to select one of our current plans for your region to move forward with.

For more information on our latest pricing plans, click here.

If you're an existing customer and want to change your plan to monthly billing, go to Setup > Billing and reselect your base plan on the Monthly frequency.

As with changing to Annual billing, if you change the pricing plan partway through the year, your pricing will be prorated. Your billing date will also change to the date you initiated the billing frequency change. 

This is what happens:

  • The charges for the next full month on your new plan are added to your invoice, and it is most likely you will not be charged as the cost of the month will be smaller than the annual credit (unless this change occurs close to the end of the Annual period).

If you make this change immediately after your account was charged for an annual period, you will be entitled to a refund of the remaining credit balance on your account. You will need to contact our Support team to request this refund.

If the change occurs later in your Annual period, the credit will remain on your account, but you will not be eligible to have these funds refunded even if you cancel your account. You can contact our Support team if you require assistance.

  Note

A refund will only be issued if you make the change to a monthly frequency AND contact us immediately after the original annual charge.

How can I change my plan size?

You can change your pricing plan, either by upgrading or downsizing, at any time. For simplicity, it is easiest to change your plan at the end of your billing cycle (monthly or annually).

If you change the pricing plan partway through a month (or year, for annual billing), your pricing will be prorated. Your billing date will also change to the date you initiated the pricing plan change. 

This is what happens:

  • When you change your pricing plan, we restart your billing from the day you make the change.
  • Any remaining days from your previous month (or year, for annual billing) are shown as a credit adjustment on your invoice.
  • The charges for the next full month (or year, for annual billing) on your new plan are added to your invoice.
  • Your bill total = full new charge - amount credited.
  • Payment will be taken the day you make the change.

Will my pricing plan automatically decrease if I lower my usage?

No, your pricing plan will not automatically decrease based on usage.

However, your business might scale down by closing an outlet. As Lite, Pro and Enterprise, and Lean, Standard, and Advanced plans are charged per outlet, if you delete an outlet then your price will decrease, once you have reduced the outlet licenses.

To reduce your outlet licenses, navigate to Setup > Billing > Manage plan and click Edit licenses.

Outlets-Billing-Edit-Licenses.png

Click Next, review the change, then click Update licenses to finish.

If you have additional paid registers, you can cancel these at any time, which will also reduce what you pay. There are some conditions for reducing registers billed outlined below.

What happens when I add or remove a register?

  Note

On our Lite, Pro, and Enterprise, and Lean, Standard, and Advanced pricing plans, one register is included for free with each outlet you set up in your store. You can purchase as many additional registers as you like for each of your outlets on any plan.

When adding additional registers to your license, you will be immediately charged a prorated amount based on the number of days/months until your next renewal. At your next renewal, you will be charged for the renewal of your base plan and any extra registers you have added in the previous period.

If you remove an extra register, you will also need to downgrade the number of register licenses to lower your billing. Once this has been done, we'll remove the additional register charge for the next renewal, but you will only be issued a prorated credit for the unused period if you are on an Annual plan. If you pay for an extra register on a monthly plan, you will not receive credit for any unused days.

This is what happens:

  • When you add a register from your license, this will incur a prorated charge from the day you make the change
  • When you reduce a register  license, any remaining unused days from your previous/current paid annual subscription for the deleted register are shown as a prorated credit adjustment on your invoice/statement
  • The charges for the next full month (or year, for annual billing) with more or fewer registers on your new plan are added to your invoice
  • Your bill total = full new charge - amount credited
  • Payment will be taken the day you make the change

For more information, refer to our Setting up your outlets and registers guide 

  Important

When you remove the register, your base plan will not automatically be updated. Remember to check the pricing plan page to adjust your plan if your usage has downgraded manually.

What happens when I add or remove an outlet?

On the Lite, Pro, and Enterprise plans, and Lean, Standard, and Advanced plans, your billing is determined based on the number of outlets and registers you have on your license.

One outlet is included with your Retail POS subscription. If you have more than one outlet and then remove an outlet, you will need to reduce your licenses in order to update your billing.

For more information, refer to our Setting up your outlets and registers guide 

Did this answer your question?
Have more questions? Contact us so that we can help you out.