What is training mode?

Training mode is a mode available for Retail POS (X-Series) on Mac and PC that, when activated, allows you to use Retail POS without affecting any of your store data. This is a useful feature if you want to train new staff or try out new features, as sales processed in training mode will not be recorded or synced to Retail POS.

  Important

Do not process any real sales while in training mode. Sales made when training mode is active are not recorded.

Activate training mode

To activate training mode, click on the register/outlet name at the top-left of the sell screen and click Switch to training mode.

switch-training-mode.png

  Tip

You can also activate training mode by navigating to Sell > Settings and selecting Enable training mode.

Enable-training-mode.png

You will receive a message confirming the activation of training mode. 

Training-mode.png

  Note

When training mode is active you will not be able to access the Sales history page, Status page, or Settings page.

You also cannot email receipts, discard or park sales, quick add new customers, or close the register.

Using training mode

When training mode is active, you'll see this blue top bar.

training_mode_bar.png

You can now search for customers and products, and process dummy sales without it affecting your store data.

You also have the option to enable or disable tutorial mode by clicking the toggle next to Enable tutorial.

enable_tutorial.png

When this is active, prompts will appear to take you through the selling process.

tutorial_prompt.png

If you print a receipt while training mode is active, "Training Mode" will be displayed on the printout so people know this is not a real receipt.

Exiting training mode

To exit training mode, click Switch and then click the Exit training mode button at the top left-hand side of the screen.

exit-training-mode.png

  Important

After exiting training mode, confirm that the blue bar has disappeared before processing a real sale. If a sale is processed while training mode is still active, it will be treated as a dummy sale and won't be recorded or synced to your store data.

Did this answer your question?
Have more questions? Contact us so that we can help you out.