Hi. How can we help?

Using training mode

Training mode for Retail POS, when activated, allows you to use Retail POS without affecting any of your store data. This feature is ideal for learning the basics of selling with Retail POS when first setting up your account, training staff, or testing new features as they are released. All sales data processed in training mode is wiped when exiting and will not be recorded in your regular reporting.

Do not process any real sales while in training mode. Sales made when training mode is active are not recorded.

Switch to training mode

To activate training mode, click on the register/outlet name at the top-left of the sell screen and click Switch to training mode. The toggle found in the sidebar menu that allows you to switch between Register and Training Mode.

You can also activate training mode by navigating to Sell > Settings and selecting Enable training mode.
The Settings page showing the Training Mode section and Enable Training Mode button

You will receive a message confirming the activation of training mode. Training mode pop up with Got it confirmation button

When training mode is active you will not be able to access the Sales history page, Status page, or Settings page. You also cannot email receipts, discard or park sales, quick add new customers, or close the register.

Using training mode

When training mode is active, you'll see this blue top bar. The blue banner at the top of Retail POS indicates training mode is enabled

You can now search for customers and products, and process test sales without it affecting your store data.

You also have the option to enable or disable tutorial mode by clicking the toggle next to Enable tutorial. Enable tutorial toggle on the right of the blue Training mode banner

When this is active, prompts will appear to take you through the selling process. Add a product to your sale tutorial pop up bubbles with more information on the action

If you print a receipt while training mode is active, "Training Mode" will be displayed on the printout so people know this is not a real receipt.

Training mode visible on Training mode receipts

Exit training mode

To exit training mode, click Switch and then click the Exit training mode button at the top left-hand side of the screen. The Switch toggle shows the option Exit Training Mode

After exiting training mode, confirm that the blue bar has disappeared before processing a real sale. If a test sale is processed while training mode is still active, it will be treated as a test sale and won't be recorded or synced to your store data.

Was this article helpful?